Inzant
            Knowledge Base Inzant Support Articles Inzant Website / CMS Cart Management

            Actioning a Locked Cart

            How does a cart become locked?

            Website carts can become "Locked" via one of two ways;
            1. A pending payment result is received from PayPal and the setting in Inzant is set to never process pending payments, or much more commonly;
            2. The user making a payment on the website neglects to return to the website either before or after making the payment. This will more commonly occur with PayPal as the payment interface is on an external PayPal hosted website. Your system should be configured to automatically redirect the user back to your website to display either a successful order confirmation screen, or a failed/cancelled payment message, however there is always the potential the user closes their browser before they arrive back at the site. Because no successful/failed/cancelled response is received from PayPal, the site then "locks" the cart from any further editing until site admin confirms whether or not a payment was made on the cart or not.


            How does Inzant notify you about a locked cart?

            Now once the cart is locked it is flagged to the admin user in two ways. It will from then on be included in the daily notification emails containing issues with orders (orders on hold, orders submitted but not confirmed etc.). Please make sure you have the "Email System Messages" setting turned on, otherwise the daily notification email will not be sent. This setting is managed in the Emails tab of the Company management screen in the Inzant Management Portal / Web Client.

            In addition to the daily email, locked carts will be shown in the dashboard screen of the CMS in the first widget.


            How do you action a locked cart?

            To action a locked cart you will need to login to the website CMS. Once logged in you can either click on the "Locked Carts" summary widget in the middle of the page, or click on "Cart Management" in the left sidebar.



            Once the cart management screen is open you can either click on the "Edit" button in the row of the cart in question, or if the list is too long to easily find the cart then you can use the "Cart Filter" dropdown to display only "Locked Carts" first. Once filtered then click on the Edit button for the cart in question.



            Now on the Cart Details screen, you can see the both the total amount and the card number fields (you can also see these details from the previous list screen as well). These will allow you to determine in your PayPal interface if the payment was received or not.
            • If you have received a payment matching the details, then you will need to click the "Confirm Order". This will convert the cart to an order and it will then follow the normal order export process.
            • If you have not received a payment matching the details, it is at your discretion if you would like to follow up with the client. There are a couple of options here;
              • Unlock the Cart - this will essentially allow the user to login and continue to shop with the same cart they had at the point it was locked. It simply removes the restrictions on the cart.
              • Delete the Cart - this will delete the cart completely, allowing the user to login and create a new cart from scratch.

            Note: When an admin user confirms or deleted a cart the website user will have to close the browser to be able to continue ordering. This is due to a session needing to be recreated. When providing support to users please notify them to close and reopen the browser should a cart ever be deleted or converted to an order.



            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            0 0